Although social media users share a myriad of positive posts and stories on their platforms, the timestamps, locations and photographs can exhibit much more than you want to convey.
Even if you set your accounts to private, there is no guarantee that only your friends will see what you post.
Posts can become evidence
Imagine an employee who formally requested a sick day away from work, but then he posts a selfie from a lounge chair on the beach, cocktail in hand. If this gentleman’s colleague or supervisor saw this post, he may receive a reprimand for lying, and will likely lose his employer’s trust in him for the long term.
Consider this from a legal standpoint. Perhaps you or a loved one has concerns about a recent allegation, and you may face an upcoming court hearing that could impact your record, your career or your life as a whole. Prosecutors may use social media posts as evidence in some proceedings, so it is important to avoid providing any potentially misleading photographs or details that others may view as damaging to your reputation or situation.
Deleting posts can cause trouble
In some cases, the court could decide that by deleting a post, you have destroyed potential evidence. Not only that, many social media platforms have records that an investigation could turn up. Once something is already out there, think twice about deleting it.
Ghosting is a safer route
Even if you want to add a photo of something as seemingly innocent as your new puppy, it may be wise to ghost your social media until after a judge closes the case to avoid any unnecessary, unintentional corroboration. After all, the verdict is more important than collecting “likes.”